Jordan de Souza
Jordan de Souza
© Brent Calis

Orchester der Komischen Oper Berlin
Orchester der Komischen Oper Berlin
© Brent Calis

Anhaltisches Theater Dessau
© Kai Bienert

Programme 2018


SUNDAY | 04.03.2018

5:00 p.m., Concert in the
Anhaltisches Theater Dessau

Revolutionary classics
Guest performance by the
Orchestra of the Komische Oper Berlin

Heinz Tiessen:
Prelude to a Revolutionary Drama, Op. 33
Philipp Jarnach:
Music with Mozart - Symphonic Variations on the Piano Trio in E major, KV 542 and the String Quintet in D major, KV 593, Op. 25
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart:
Adagio and Fugue in C minor, KV 546
Ludwig van Beethoven:
Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 61

Violin: Daniel Lozakovich
Conductor: Jordan de Souza
Orchestra of the Komische Oper Berlin

The Orchestra of the Komische Oper Berlin places works by two forgotten composers of the turbulent 1920s in a dialogue with music from the pens of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart and Ludwig van Beethoven. And we shouldn't be surprised, as the orchestra of the Komische Oper has always been an ensemble marked not only by its scrupulous performances but also by a spirit of adventure and experiment. Founded to coincide with the opening of the Komische Oper Berlin in 1947, its music directors have included Kurt Masur, Rolf Reuter, Yakov Kreizberg and Kirill Petrenko.

In the course of its seventy-year history, the 112 musicians of the orchestra have received additional artistic impulses through close collaboration with conductors such as Otto Klemperer, Rudolf Kempe, Václav Neumann, Sir Roger Norrington, Sir Neville Marriner, Krzysztof Penderecki, Hartmut Haenchen, Rudolf Barshai, Lothar Zagrosek and Fabio Luisi. Equally at home in opera, operetta and musical as well as in the symphonic repertoire, concerts by the Orchestra of the Komische Oper Berlin are never less than innovative and exciting.

Now you have the chance to hear Heinz Tiessen's dramatic Prelude to a Revolutionary Drama from 1928 and Philipp Jarnach's homage to the music of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart from 1935 in combination with two immortal masterpieces of the classical canon!

  regular reduced
Cat. 1 34 € 27 €
Cat. 2 27 € 22 €
Cat. 3 21 € 17 €
Cat. 4 16 € 13 €
U27-Ticket 9 €


+49(0)341 - 14 990 900

© Roßdeutscher & Bartel GmbH, Leipzig, 2018